3.—Prime Ministers since Confederation, 1867—concluded

Ministry	, Prime Minister	Length of Administration				
10	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden					
11	Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen	(Unionist Administration) July 10, 1920 - Dec. 29, 1921 (Unionist—"National Liberal				
12	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King	and Conservative Party") Dec. 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926				
13 14 15 16 17 18	Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen	June 29, 1926 - Sent. 25, 1926				
14	Rt. Hon, William Lyon Mackenzie King	Sept. 25, 1926 - Aug. 6, 1930				
15	Rt. Hon. RICHARD BEDFORD BENNETT	Aug. 7, 1930 - Oct. 23 1935				
16	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King	Oct. 23, 1935 - Nov. 15, 1948				
17	Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent.	Nov. 15. 1948 - June 21 1957				
18	Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker	June 21, 1957				

4.—Members of the Eighteenth Ministry as at Oct. 15, 1957

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Note.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions.

Office	Occupant	Date of First Appointment		Date of Appointment to Present Portfolio		
Prime Minister Minister of Public Works and Acting Minister of Defence Production Minister of Finance and Receiver General Minister of Veterans Affairs Minister of Transport Solicitor General Minister of National Defence Minister of Trade and Commerce	Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker. Hon. Howard Charles Green Hon., Donald Methuen Fleming. Hon. Alfred Johnson Brooks Hon. George Hees Hon. Loon Balcer. Hon. George Randolff Pearkes Hon. George Randolff Pearkes	June 2	21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957	June June June June June June June June	21, 21, 21, 21, 21, 21,	1957 1957 1957 1957 1957
Minister of Justice and Attorney General and Acting Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Minister of National Revenue. Minister of Agriculture Secretary of State. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Labour. Postmaster General. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon, Edmund Davie Fulton	June 2	21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957 21, 1957	June June Aug. June June June June June	21, 21, 7, 21, 21, 21, 21,	1957 1957 1957 1957 1957 1957
Minister without Portfolio	Macdonnell. Hon, William J. Browne. Hon, Paul Comfois. Hon, Jay Waldo Monteith.	June 2 Aug.	21, 1957 21, 1957 7, 1957 22, 1957	June June Aug. Aug.	21,	1957 1957
Resources Secretary of State for External Affairs Leader of the Government in the Senate and Minister without Portfolio	Hon. Francis Alvin George Hamilton Hon, Sidney Earle Smith Hon. John Thomas Haig	Sept. 1	22, 1957 3, 1957 9, 1957	Aug. Sept. Oct.	13,	1957

¹ Appointee was not necessarily sworn in on date given.

Administrative duties in the various departments of government became so burdensome during World War II that Parliamentary Assistants were appointed to assist six Cabinet Ministers with their Parliamentary duties. The practice was extended after the War and at Oct. 15, 1957, there were 12 Parliamentary Assistants, as follows:—

c. 10, 1001, there were 12 1 thrillians	,
To Prime Minister	WALLACE BICKFORD NESSITT
To Minister of Agriculture	John A. Charlton
To Minister of National Health and Welfare.	G. ERNEST HALPENNY
To Minister of Labour	ARTHUR MALONEY
To Minister of Public Works	CLAYTON W. HODGSON
To Mines and Technical Surveys	RAYMOND O'HURLEY
To Minister of Trade and Commerce	THOMAS M. BELL
To Minister of Transport	A'NGUS R. MACDONALD
To Minister of Veterans Affairs	WALTER DINSDALE
To Minister of Justice	DAVID J. WALKER
To Minister of Finance	RICHARD A. BELL
T. Minister of Mational Defence	MARSHALL LAMBERT